Leaving for the U.K

I leave for Europe with Kathy & Dave G today (Saturday). Over 24 hours of flying, layovers, trains and such before we arrive in London. We’ll spend a few days in and around the London area, a visit or two to the countryside – maybe even the coast! Then it’s off to Paris for a few days before we come back into the states. I’ll be gone until the 22nd. All the dogs will be boarded (much to their chagrin) during the travels. River has been alternating between super clingy and pissed. Explaining to a demanding dachshund that overseas travel isn’t something she can just ‘come along for’ is not going particularly well. I can probably expect the silent treatment upon my return…

I’m excited for the trip (maybe not the large amount of time sitting in uncomfortable seats) and feel pretty damned humbled that I get to join Kathy and Dave. In some ways I feel rather undeserving (okay, most ways), that would just be one of the ‘images’ that I am working on. I expect I’ll take entirely too many pictures, sample more beers than maybe I need and try to bring more rocks than my pockets can carry back with me. Since this is a short trip – I just plan on soaking in what I can and plotting my next extended visit. No rushing about and trying to fit 1000 things into a few days.

I wish I could say I’m all ‘packed’ and ready to go..but that would be a lie. At this point in the game, I do have clean clothes at least to pack with! Stocked my e-reader up with books (this is infinitely more important than clean clothes) and have my cameras ready go. Packing for trips is all about priorities. Reading material should always be high on the list!

Here’s to the next adventure along the journey ~ J

Leave a Reply

