Jackie’s Visit to Seattle & Cross Country Road Trip Vol I~ June 2013

I had brainstormed with Jackie a few months ago when I was planning the drive East with the Dachshund girls in my Black Dragon (Subaru) for the move to Maryland. Jackie eagerly agreed to do the cross-country road trip – complete with stops like Yellowstone along the way. We decided that he would come a few days early to see Seattle, visit our Aunt Michele (Roissier – Mom’s older sister) and Uncle Dave and help me packup the car. Between the two of us, quite a few pictures were taken throughout the trip – which is why I’m doing installments!

Many of the pictures to follow were taken with my new Olympus Tough Camera — model TG-2 iHS that I picked up with trips like this in mind. It is a ‘waterproof’, ‘shockproof’, ‘freeze proof’, ‘dustproof’ and even ‘crush-resistant’ – so basically the ideal Point & Shoot camera if I am going to have one. I’m not the biggest fan of Point & Shoot cameras, I find them constricting, annoying, sensitive in all the wrong ways – and basically more trouble than they are worth. But the bulk of a DSLR can be hindering, not to mention that I cannot take it with me on a say a raft adventure, or even a trip to the Pine Barrens I would hesitate with sand and moisture get into EVERYTHING. So after much research and trepidation, I settled upon the Olympus Tough TG-2 iHS. And you know, for a Point & Shoot, I like it. So far it has indeed lived up to its name. And I can let Jackie use it – which anyone who knows him personally will agree..tends to breaks things.

Below: The Seattle Waterfront. Jackie hadn’t really stayed in a large city before, so Seattle was quite different for him. He particularly enjoyed the famous Pike Place and the waterfront area. Ironically, Seattle was sunny just about the entire time he was there – something he found rather shocking as like most people, his impression was that Seattle is only EVER rainy and gloomy.

Seattle from the water

Seattle from the water

Reuben and I took Jackie to some of our favorite places to eat and see around the city. My country-boy brother from poor rural Tennessee, about had a heart attack each time the food bill was brought to us, by day two Reuben and I simply didn’t let him see it… Minimum wage in Seattle is almost 10$..so like any large city, the prices for non fast food is higher than say rural Tennessee – which to be fair almost everywhere is more expensive than rural Tennessee…

We of course rode the Bainbridge Ferry to the Olympic Peninsula where I showed Jackie a few sights on the Peninsula. The day was breezy and sunny, nearly blinding us while on the water. But made for great pictures of the Iconic Waterfront shot, below.

Ferris Wheel at the water front

Ferris Wheel at the water front

Jackie had never been on such a large Ferry and was quite impressed with ease of the system. It was a beautiful day for the ride across the sound, the sun blinding  and directly overhead!

Jackie on the Ferry

Jackie on the Ferry

Both Rosie & River came along for the ride and neither were impressed with the force of the wind at the front of the boat!

Jackie & Rosie

Jackie & Rosie Roo

I snapped this beauty from the moving Ferry – all colors are as is – I didn’t edit this photo. I took most of the pictures of Seattle with Jackie in mind, but they are good enough that I decided to share some.

Port of Seattle

Port of Seattle

It was a busy day on the water, with sunshine and nice breeze there was many boats out on the Sound.

Barge being pulled out to sea

Barge being pulled out to sea

The wind is pretty evident with how my hair looks here..Jackie took this photo, and I might I say, pretty well too!

Me with my out of control hair

Me with my out of control hair

I look somewhat like a demented demon (albeit a short one..) with my hair and Jackie still red from his sunburn he arrived with from TN..all in all probably not the most flattering picture of us, but we had a great time touring around and was nice that another passenger snapped a few for us to remember♥.

Jackie & I on the Ferry

Jackie & I on the Ferry

And for the closeup shot of the insanity!

Closeup of us!

Closeup of us!

Even Mount Rainier was out on this beautiful and clear day.

Mt. Rainier from the Ferry

Mt. Rainier from the Ferry

A picturesque Sailboat on the Sound.

Picturesque Sail Boat

Picturesque Sail Boat

We drove across Bainbridge and up through Sequim, then out along the coast of Dungeness Bay to see some of the coast line. The only reason there is even a “Dungeness Bay” is due to a very thin strip of land between the Salish Sea and mainland that goes on for maybe 1/2 a mile.  It is a cool area, often birds are out hunting or nesting on the protected areas.

Coastline view near Port Angeles WA

Coastline view next to Dungeness Bay WA

Mount Baker was even out! Both Mountains in one day – Jackie had truly gotten lucky! And in this picture you can see some of the ‘thin stripe of land’ that is part of what makes Dungeness Bay

Mt. Baker

Mt. Baker

Jackie against the Salish Sea – he was surprised by how chilly or ‘cold’ it was for June in WA, even with the sun out. The wind was whipping at a good click and though the sun gave a ‘warm impression’, you really couldn’t feel it.

Jackie in Port Angeles WA

Jackie along the coast

Seaweed that washed up.

Seaweed

Seaweed

River bounced around for a few minutes on the rocky beach, then was promptly hiding from the wind. Rosie didn’t even want to leave the rocks that helped block the wind.

River hiding from the wind

River hiding from the wind

The Sunlight was glinting Gold on the water. Beautiful.

Golden Waves

Golden Waves

Jackie took this photo for me, not too bad since he was learning how to use the camera!

Joannie

Joannie

Looking handsome on the rocks. He informed me once back in the car, that he would have liked a wind breaker to go with his favorite (clearly from the wear) sweatshirt.

Jackie on the Rocks

Jackie on the Rocks

While we were out exploring and letting the girls wander, a kite surfer was doing some impressive tricks(?) on the water. I managed to get a nice action shot that I am pretty proud of!

Wind Surfer

Kite Surfer

While there was still light, I drove Jackie further into the Olympic Park, even getting out to the Elwha River valley. He was rather taken with the area and took many photos, some of which turned out.

Elwah River

Elwha River

We stopped along the gorgeous Crescent Lake, a deep, clear, Glacier made lake setting between mountains, one set of which the Salish Sea is on the other side. This particular viewing area is one of my favorite with the trees and rocks.

Old Roots

Old Roots

My love of the lakes was contagious and within minutes of seeing them, Jackie was smitten too.

Jackie next to Lake Crescent

Jackie next to Lake Crescent

The sky being dramatic as the light slowly waned.

Lake Crescent WA

Lake Crescent WA

We stayed as long as we could, but I wanted to show Jackie Port Angeles while there was still light – I drove so he could continue to enjoy the views. We got to the docks just in time to see the pink light on the still snow-capped Olympic Mountains.

Sunlight on the mountain peaks behind Port Angeles

Sunlight on the mountain peaks behind Port Angeles

Out on the docks of Port Angeles there is a ‘viewing’ tower that is a great place for Sunset photos.

Setting Sun over Port Angeles

Setting Sun over Port Angeles

It was a breath-taking Sunset to finish off the fun-filled day! The Victoria BC Ferry pulled up as we watched the sun go down – to which Jackie exclaimed “Lets go to Canada!”. Sadly we couldn’t since his passport wasn’t in the picture, but it was a fun thought.

Victoria B.C (Canada) Ferry

Victoria B.C (Canada) Ferry

The light was doing a beautiful dance on the water.

Light on the water

Light on the water

The Final light of the sun – which being so far North was well past 9pm – is something I’ll remember, I hope till the day I die. It was a very special evening to share with my 1st (big) Little Brother.

Final Light

Final Light

We rode the Ferry towards the City Lights, I have ridden the Ferry at night many times, and the Lights of Seattle always impress and even intimidate me. And on a photo note – my Tough camera took this picture while in night mode – on the Ferry which has a lot of vibration from the engines – pretty damn good I think!

Seattle Lights from the Ferry

Seattle Lights from the Ferry

Our last couple of days in Seattle were mostly spent packing and running around without time to really stop and take pictures. We had to take my Black Dragon in to the shop to it tuned up – which turned into a 2 1/2 ordeal that my wonderful Aunt Michele helped us out with. A final dinner with Uncle Dave and Aunt Michele had, the Black Dragon was packed, the dogs loaded, and Reuben & I goodbyes said – we were on the road.

We didn’t get very far before the girls needed a potty break and Jackie wanted some pictures. The rivers and lakes in Washington are very clear and to my eyes – stunning.

River Rocks

River Rocks

Even the camera can catch just how clear and yet teal the water is!

Crystal clear river

Crystal clear river

We began our drive through the Cascades, a deep evergreen yet snow-capped mountain range with all sorts of sharp peaks, high elevation lakes and even a few waterfalls.

Peaking through the trees

A Cascade Peak peaking through the trees

The cross-country road trip with Rosie, River, Jackie & I had officially begun. I was sad to say goodbye to Seattle, it’s probably the only city I’ve enjoyed spending any length of time in. But it was time for me move on, for Reuben and I to live our separate (but still friends where possible) lives, and for me to try to see what might be possible on the East Coast, hopefully with my horses. Jackie was ecstatic to see Montana and Wyoming again. The River Rat always ready for an adventure, and for Rosie, well she was in the car, one of her favorite places! My Black Dragon performed AMAZING!

I’m so happy I got to share some of Seattle and Washington with you Jackie ♥

It’s all about the Journey ~ J

Leave a Reply

