Being a Redhead

Being a natural redhead complete with freckles seems to be a large part of how people perceive me. With all the stereotypes running amok, I can honestly say this is one I don’t really mind (except the dumb hick idea that I must be a witch..). I think being a redhead suits me and can make my personality easier to understand for fellow outsiders.

I put together some picture quotes (photos and art I took from the internet along with redhead quotes and sayings, I tried to give credit for the texts) for fun.

While it’s true that most of a redhead’s persona is much deeper than hair, there are some real biological differences between redhead and “normal” hair colors due to the DNA mutation of the hair color gene.

A widely known theory is becoming fact for many gingers!

A growing body of research shows that people with red hair need larger doses of anesthesia and often are resistant to local pain blockers like Novocaine. As a result, redheads tend to be particularly nervous about dental procedures and are twice as likely to avoid going to the dentist as people with other hair colors, according to new research published in The Journal of the American Dental Association.

and to top it off… We’re naturally more sensitive to pain!

Researchers believe redheads are more sensitive to pain because of a mutation in a gene that affects hair color. In people with brown, black and blond hair, the gene, for the melanocortin-1 receptor, produces melanin. But a mutation in the MC1R gene results in the production of a substance called pheomelanin that results in red hair and fair skin.

The MC1R gene belongs to a family of receptors that include pain receptors in the brain, and as a result, a mutation in the gene appears to influence the body’s sensitivity to pain. A 2004 study showed that redheads require, on average, about 20 percent more general anesthesia than people with dark hair or blond coloring. And in 2005, researchers found that redheads are more resistant to the effects of local anesthesia, such as the numbing drugs used by dentists.

Taken from http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/08/06/the-pain-of-being-a-redhead/

Okay! Enough with the genetics! On to more interesting things and pictures.

I cannot tell you how many times people crack jokes and pick up lines about the nature of my hair color and how they “better watch out”. It’s amusing and slightly immature but it also just gives me all the more reason to slap someone running their mouth! Can’t help myself right???

 

Redheads are supposed to be both passionate and intelligent, loving and evil tempered and  above all – untouchable. So I guess that makes me superior.

 

I’ve often been called graceful and very “faery” like. Whether it’s because I’m small and dance or because I have red hair I don’t know but it works for me!

 

 

 

 

I wish I had a dollar for every person (man and woman) that has very emphatically told me how unique and different I am, how they have never met anyone like me. So I guess this saying is true at least!

 

OOPS Totally been called a man eater…

I have to agree here (at least for me). Try to take away my freedom and put me in a box and you’ve never seen someone fight in so many ways to get away!

 

Indeed! I’ve been known to get up to no good as this faery of Amy Brown’s depicts.

P.S I love fire. Making it, cooking on it, sitting next to it with a cold beer, staring into the coals for hours is my idea of meditation.

6 thoughts on “Being a Redhead

  1. Awesome post! I’m sort of a natural redhead…I say sort of because my hair was a deep auburn as a kid, but turned to a dark chestnut red brown once I hit my teens. Currently it is dyed to the color it was when I was a kid. But I love fire, too, and I’m adventurous, difficult for people to handle at times, loving and caring to those who have earned it, and passionate about many things in life. I think you and I are a lot alike, my friend 🙂

  2. I am also a natural redhead going on 42 years 🙂 I also love fire, everything about it, making it during a camp out especially 🙂 fire is my personality haha keep up the good work. loveee being a redhead greetingsx

Leave a Reply

